Has It Been Three Years Already?

Hey, guess what! This past week I celebrated my third Seattleversary [specifically October, 13th]! I remember it like it was yesterday. I went to Old Navy and bought a grey and black plaid pea coat, boarded a plane with a one-way ticket and [several hours later] Butterfly picked me up from the airport. [Yeah, that pea coat was useless. They don't sell real coats in Florida. Why would they? You don't need them there!] I remember arriving at my new home, a sleazy motel on Aurora, and seeing the carpet stains, thought the worst. I cried myself to sleep that night, only to be woken up by an actual pimp slapping his actual hooker around outside my window. Still, Seattle charmed my pants off. I would make an almost daily trip to the Fremont Library and count all the flowers I encountered on the way. The leaves were bright yellow and red and orange.  The kind of leaves that make you feel like you’re in some kind of wonderland.

I’ve loved Seattle a little bit more everyday, all the while missing Florida and Tennessee and familiar faces. I’m constantly encountering doppelgängers of Florida friends. Even though they’re different people on the opposite side of the country, they make me feel right at home.

Looking back I know I did the right thing, but at the time [especially in certain moments] moving across the country with no job was a shocking thing to consider. At one point a relative cornered me and promised that all the worst things would happen to me and that assured me that my actions were killing my mother. But actually some of the best things have happened, and Mama Sunshine is just fine.

To celebrate three years of ass-kickery, I’ve decided to share my life list. I’m a list maker naturally, but I was directly inspired by Nicole at Making it Lovely [her blog is dope, read it]. Anything major I’ve ever accomplished has come from a list that I may have jotted down on some scrap. Whether or not I maintained it, checked it twice, I need to write things out for the sake of my sanity. From there I break goals down into individual tasks and get them done. Some of these may not ever get crossed off, that’s okay, what’s important is that at every turn adventure unfolds.

So, here’s a list of adventures I’d like to have. You can also revisit the list at its new home, tabbed across the top of the Press! I’ll keep it updated and add photos/links as things are accomplished!

Much To Do

Experiences

  • find my magic city, move there.
  • go hot air ballooning
  • visit New Zealand
  • hike Mount Rainier
  • show Honeybee Orlando/Winter Park [then escape to Key West]
  • create a Sunshiney environment for everyone I love
  • camp for a whole week
  • go spelunking
  • go surfing in Hawaii
  • ride a scooter in Paris
  • dance to Spanish guitar in Spain
  • shoot skeet
  • hang out on a Native American Reservation

Skills

  • pee standing up
  • give a momentous speech
  • learn Spanish
  • learn French

Music

  • play drums for an all girl rock band
  • play harmonica
  • play piano
  • sing my soul to share
  • start a band
  • Super Plaid Super Tour
  • write a solo album

Projects

  • paint a mural
  • 365 [daily] project
  • direct a music video
  • publish a [creative nonfiction] novel
  • grow an ivy, use it as a shower curtain
  • plan a garden from landscape to harvest
  • create a postcard series
  • refinish antique round table
  • do some badass graffiti
  • sew an art quilt

Family

  • find my love, keep him/her
  • have a kitty that loves me
  • record both our family’s histories in a timeline format
  • create a proper scrapbook for Honeybee & Me

Home

  • have a home that fully suits our needs [recording studio, painting studio, office, library, workshop]

Professional

  • make enough [from art] to support my family
  • become debt free
  • perfect my portfolios [web, paper scrapbook, paper glossy]
  • be the featured artist in a show
  • hang my paintings in a Seattle coffee shop/bar
  • learn to code a full on website with a store
  • start an arts collective
  • be a college graduate
  • shoot a wedding [photographically]

Style

  • own a flowing silk robe
  • find the perfect wide-brimmed summer hat, rock it
  • have a [well-organized] closet full of classics
  • wear a ball gown
  • pull off red lipstick
  • create a signature

Health/Fitness

  • have a 4-pack
  • use only all natural/environmentally friendly goods [that work]
  • jog without iPod

Just For Fun

  • learn a sexy partner dance, do it in public
  • fleur-de-lis tattoo
  • treble clef tattoo
  • host a major event
  • wear a catsuit
  • rollerskate again
  • bowl a 250 or above
  • tell a hauntingly scary ghost story
  • tell an actually funny joke
  • have a pig-tailed pie flinging birthday party

xo,

Sunshine

you know what i love? comments from awesome people.

