Nigga Please and Other (Guilty) Pleasures

We all have our little naughty bits -aside from the ones in our pants, of course- that make us smile, laugh or just move the day along at a not so I-wanna-punch-everyone-in-the-face sort of  pace.  I usually try to find something funny every day, but some days, like yesterday, the funny finds me. And where else would hilarity ensue but the Number 5 bus to Northgate? Nowhere, that’s where. I was doing alright for myself; had a seat next to a lovely Chinese lady who was reading quietly to herself and it wasn’t too crowded. The guy across the aisle from me, we’ll call him Steve, was looking around with a faint smile. I noticed the driver was a bit cranky as he picked up a guy at the next stop who made the mistake of asking a question and having a bike to affix to the front. But, you know, bus drivers in Seattle work really hard and everyone has a bad day, so I gave him the benefit of the doubt and resumed staring out the window listening to Spoon.

The next stop was 6th and Denny Way. We picked up a guy who seemed rather in a hurry to get to the back of the bus. We’ll call him Dude for the sake of this story. As Dude shuffled his way to the back looking like Keanu Reeves, Steve stood up, chest-bumped him aggressively and said, “what up, bitch?” In the same situation I could not promise to be as calm as Dude was when he inquired, “Dude, really, dude?” Steve moved aside and gushed, “Dude, you look just like Jeremy. Spitting image, dude.” Dude made his way to the back of the bus and said, “well this Jeremy dude must be pretty handsome.”

“Actually, he looks like a douche.”

At this, I burst out laughing. Loudly. I jostled the nice lady beside me and made her lose her place in her book. Even as I did so, I felt awkward about it. I tried not to make eye contact with Steve because I didn’t want him thinking he was right. I wanted him knowing. After all, Dude was the victim of this tussle, but Dude did look like a douche.

“A douche bag,” clarified Steve.

Poor Dude was rendered speechless, he said nothing the rest of the trip. Dude’s silence gave Steve leeway to talk over the eight people ahead of him at the bus driver who really didn’t want to be involved. The bus made its way up Fremont Avenue. When Steve asked if the Buckaroo was really closed forever, the driver answered, “the last night was Friday, where the fuck were you?”

*****

In the off-chance a day goes by without a notable funny, I like to employ my personal favorite: an unsuspecting Nigga, Please. Extra points for saying it to a white female. Cracks me up every time.

But yesterday definitely wasn’t a Nigga Please Monday. Not only did I have the preambulary raucous laughter on the bus, I later found myself at the Shipwreck Tavern where the Uh-Oh Dudes host a comedy night of epic (and by epic I mean free) proportion. In fact this comedy night and Alki Beach are the only reasons to go to West Seattle. They’re a wild bunch and I’m sure no matter what your giggly guilty pleasure is, they’ve got it. Especially if you get a good belly laugh out of rape jokes.

I know I do.

Hahaha, Nigga, Please

you know what i love? comments from awesome people.

