Moving Right Along

Well I think I’m doing alright. Well, as alright as can be. School starts Monday. Here’s my updated winter break to do list:

  • clean smokeware
  • figure drawing session
  • super special Christmas surprise!!!
  • new planner crossover
  • 2013 rough plan
  • wedding considerations (update, pre-measurements, invitations)
  • Studio (floor plan, brainstorm, paint, desk, room divider, set up)
  • work out
  • infinite cuddles
  • read a book purely for pleasure (suggestions?)
  • trip to Walla Walla
  • get camera cleaned, get battery for remote control
  • Meet:Jeri

If you’re ever looking for a semi-inexpensive date for you and your boo, I suggest a figure drawing session. I say semi-inexpensive because I already had an 18×26 sketch book and charcoals in many sizes [but charcoal is not expensive and you can get smaller sketch books cheaper]. I set up two heaters and drew nude Honeybee in charcoal and pastel. It was my first time working with pastels [I got them for Christmas from Granma Jo, thank you!] and I loved it, although they’re not quite as easy to manipulate as charcoal on newsprint…unless your hands are warm.

figure drawing session date

honeybee’s chest

As for the rearrange, everything’s coming along nicely!

Plan for the bedroom:

DSC_3590

Actual bedroom:

voila!

DSC_3676

DSC_3684

DSC_3687

DSC_3697

So, okay, it still needs some work. Moving everything around forced me to realize just how uneven our space is. Look at how crooked those DVDs look! But we ended up keeping the coffee table. That’s a victory. The room still feels spacious and we have all that extra storage. Score. We win.

Now the other room didn’t get the love the bedroom did. I didn’t draw up a bunch of little graph paper squares. I didn’t think it would do much good because everything in there is a square.And pretty much everything has to stay where it is. So here’s where my desk will be!

Room dividing curtains:

DSC_3626

There’s a water heater back there. And, you know, I like the industrial look, but, um, something had to be done.

DSC_3633

I decided on curtains instead of a hinged-wood room divider. They were cheap and pretty damn easy to put up. Should I shorten them? Probably. But that’s not what’s happening today.

I had to invent this chain out of extra IKEA pieces to keep it from slouching around the duct. Whatever it takes.

DSC_3628

Ignore that dust.

The two things I won’t have time/money for [painting and the desk] are okay for now. I found a table top in the AS IS section at IKEA that’s the same size that I wanted for half price except it’s the blonde wood. I’m just not into blondes. So I’m gonna sand this bad boy and paint it black. Then I’ll finally decide on legs and get those to match. Yay! And in the meantime, if I happen to do some homework in bed it won’t be the worst thing that ever happened to my back because we’re now against the wall. Hooray! I can lean! Gangsta lean!

As for reading a book purely for pleasure before the next semester starts—not gonna happen. Unless you count Martha Stewart’s Encyclopedia of Crafts. What can I say, it brings me pleasure. I’ll get the camera cleaned in the coming weeks. And, well, I hope we get to Meet: Jeri soon!

Now then, off to do!

xo,

Sunshine

you know what i love? comments from awesome people.

