Tom Tru

Design draws my interest for a lot of reasons and on different levels. I loved walking around the Museum of Modern Art in L.A. with its stark white walls and ornate frames and crisp gardens, yes. But I’ve also loved the inherent homeyness of a grandparent’s house with relics abound. There are intangible traces of history in artworks that help make a house a home. Take this burlap wall hanging here.

DSC_3861

Did I ever tell you how much I love it? Matt says his grandma gave it to him when he first moved out on his own and he’s always had it up ever since. Can’t blame him. There’s a sexy mid-century modern approach to the flowers, to the colors. It’s joyous and wonderful and perfect and you know it. I wanted to learn more about it so I asked the internet.

f2a50cf5f261f9883288136a9a5c45d8_h

I came up with this one which is very similar, but links to a dead Etsy sale page. It was vintage and somebody bought that little cutie.

Printed on the back is the insignia of the Tom Tru Corporation of Lambertville, New Jersey. So I asked the internet more about this Tom Tru and all I can find is either people asking about Tom Tru or people auctioning Tom Tru originals. Mystery! Intrigue! I simply must know more. Tell me more!

Someone!

Sunshine

8 thoughts on “Tom Tru

  1. Good morning, Sunshine! Hey Brianna, thanks for posting a Tom Tru I haven’t seen before. It’s a great-looking piece. Here’s a link which may help fill you in about the Tom Tru Corporation. Sadly, there’s no definitive article or book I can point you toward. The work this group did, however, speaks for itself. It’s beautiful and elegant, and straddles the midcentury/trippy seventies design aesthetics which are gaining renewed respect and popularity today.

    http://retrorenovation.com/?s=bushong

    If the link doesn’t work, just search the site for Bushong. Robert Bushong was one of a stable of freelance and on-staff artists at Tom Tru, and now seems to be the best known. Many sellers mistakenly list Tom Tru artwork as Bushong, but the group included several other distinctive artists, including Helen Webber and Nick Cann. The group created all manner of wall art, from tiles and other ceramics (many by Paul Bellardo) to (printed) mirrors, tapestries and framed pieces.

    Hope this helps. Thanks again for posting that really nice piece! Let me know if I can provide any other information –

  2. I recently found a Tom tru corp piece, and I am just as astounded as you since there is hardly any material on their works yet there seems to be a large market.

  3. Brianna, I have been researching Robert Bushong who was an artist for Tom Tru and found your blog. Thank you. I have yet to find information on the wall hanging I own (not sure if it’s a Robert Bushong for Tom Tru, or simply a Robert Bushong. It’s a great piece from Mid-Century and the subject looks like an “Oil Field” perhaps from the late 40’s to 50’s in Long Beach, CA. How do I post an image so you can see it? Thanks!

you know what i love? comments from awesome people.

