Meet: Matt

Did you think I forgot?! I could never! I would never. No, see, this is why we have deadlines at Sunshine Press. Else I would get nothing done. I originally intended  for us to Meet: Matt in February since it’s the month of love and whatnot, but it was also the month of my birthday and a whole heap of schoolwork. That didn’t work out.

When I started this blog back in 2009 I didn’t know where this adventure would take me [still don’t], I was just committed to documenting it here [still am]. So, actually, you were the first to know when I met Matt, now known as Honeybee. Do you remember? I’d seen him a few times, but things clicked when he came out from behind his checkstand and hugged me when my friend died. I don’t necessarily consider it love at first sight, but I do recall that when I first saw him, I distinctly wanted to talk to him. And when I finally worked up the courage talked to him I simply had to know everything about him. He’s addictive that way. But how weird is it to formally introduce someone to your blog-life? Is that even a thing? Let’s make it a thing.

It’s a thing now. And this tardiness allowed for the proper celebration of his birthday, St. Patrick’s Day [which is also the anniversary of his proposal]. I’ll admit, another reason this Meet: is late is for the simple fact that I underestimated being so close with my interviewee. Matt’s an all-in sort of guy so as I asked him questions he’d be looking ahead at the next question. I’m all like, hey, mind yo business!

Ultimately it was a very worthwhile challenge. Why? Because there’s more to Matt than dreamy boyish good-looks. And it seems that he’s in it for the long haul. This guy wants to marry me, blog and all, y’all. So, everyone, Meet: Matt.

meet: matt

State your name for the record please. 

My name is Matthew Tyler Wray. I was born March 17, 1977 in Walla Walla, Washington. [See what I’m saying?! Who says that? Tell me you wouldn’t have a follow up question?!]

Do you know why you were chosen as this month’s Meeting? 

I suppose I’d have to say no. Because I’m an interesting person? Maybe.

Aside from the nature of our personal relationship, we’ve worked together for three years now making music, yes, but we’ve also collaborated on paintings as well as other projects and I want you to know that terms of professionalism and work-ethic, you’re  someone I look up to. 

Can I touch my interviewer?

You can touch me. Later. Where did you get your amazing work ethic from? 

It’s been a bit of an evolution, but my dad has always been a hard worker. And my grandma. And you never want to disappoint people you love, so you imitate those you respect most. 

Where did you study?

I went to Shoreline Community College for digital audio engineering. Before that I attended Walla Walla Community College for pottery. 

For pottery?

For pottery.

Tell me about some of your pieces. What were your specialties? 

Bowls, plates and vases. What’s left around the house are the pick of the litter. I would love to do more pottery and sculpture. 

matt-tue

So at this point just now what are you itching to produce?

Besides music? I have my bag of tricks. I’m working on traditional Native masks.

You’re working on a traditional Native American mask? You make those? 

I did make one and I attempted to make another but the wood was bad. I want to create art across all media. 

Agreed. Let’s! In the meantime, tell me about your day job.

I work in a grocery store in Fremont, Seattle.

He works at Marketime. And it’s locally famous.

Yeah it’s a nice place. I enjoy working there. It’s definitely a day job, but I enjoy the people I work with.

I think everyone enjoys you working there. You were in the I Saw You section of the Stranger as Marketime Matt by an admirer who called you dreamy! And I know you thought that was me, but that was not me. 

I looked at every customer for while wondering who it could be. It’s a complete mystery. But it doesn’t really matter, there’s only one person in my line who gets checked out two ways. 😉

This interviewer will not ask who that person is but I’m sure she is lucky and gorgeous.

Yes, she is. Gorgeous, I mean.

[See? This is what I’m talking about. Focus! Bah!]

What does creative mean to you?

Making order out of chaos. Be it something you look at or something you hear, you’re taking that chaos and focusing it into something different that everybody can appreciate. 

What is your pattern, or trademark that makes Matt-sculpture versus Matt-music versus anything else you would create? What is the thing that makes it yours?

I just have my way of looking at the world and it translates into everything I do. I’ve just finished one big project [Super Plaid’s second album End of Dazeand I’m feeling out what’s next. It’s a process. 

You’ve been at it a while, right? How many albums have you put together so far? 

Officially ten. And there’s a whole slew of unofficial mixes. 

Honeybee editing

Matt Editing

Then there’s at least a series worth of paintings I’ve seen you create. 

Yup, but music is my favorite. Standout hits are: It’s a Chupacabra Christmas, Jericho, Lando System, and the G. I. Joe Theme Song. But it’s a mood thing, too. At this point I have a category for every mood. Or a mood for every category. 

Who are your top influences? 

The Beatles, Jimi Hendrix, Medeski, Martin & Wood, and Beck. 

my own personal guitar hero

What would you do if you were at a table with all those guys?

Spontaneously combust. I’ve never met a celebrity before [outside of work]. Do you just avoid asking them questions about their fame? Just talk to them like a friend? I don’t know. What do you do?

Well, that’s the thing. Actually that’s one of the reasons I invented Meet: because I feel like my friends are famous people. They’re, like, famous people that people don’t know about yet. I always wanna hang out because we’re friends. But then I also wanna be like, so what’s inspring you right you now? What are you thinking about? 

So, what inspires you?

Haha

You’ve mentioned before that creating music for you is a means of creating a legacy, why is it so important? 

It’s not really important to have a legacy of music or even to have a legacy. But, I suppose I’d prefer to be remembered, not forgotten. Like a forget-me-not. Perhaps down the line my great great great nieces and nephews will hear my music and maybe it’ll change their life. 

in his natural environment

If there’s one thing  you’d like the world to know about you, it would be?

I’m rich, bitch. Um…nah. 

Well, I suppose I’m out of questions.

Does that mean it’s dinner time?

Yes. Feed meeeee!

Well, there you have it folks. You’ve officially met him. He’s uncommonly kind and clean. He’s a hard worker and dreamboat. What can I say, he’s my kind of guy. He doesn’t get to hang out as often as he’d like due to crappy mid-shifts at the Market, but he’s always down for a jam. He can play almost any instrument [guitar, mandolin, cello, bass, drums, piano, lap harp, clarinet, tenor banjo, harmonica, penny whistle, glockenspiel, and the dryer to name a few] and he’s got great hair. Eh?

at cello

Yeahhh!

[Ladies this one’s taken, but he’s got a single brother. Wha-WHAT!]

xo,

Sunshine

5 thoughts on “Meet: Matt

  1. Pingback: The Psychology 101 Effect | Sunshine Press

  2. Pingback: Seattleversary! 4 Years | Sunshine Press

  3. Pingback: Meet: Lauren Napier | Sunshine Press

you know what i love? comments from awesome people.

