Life List Update: Published!

image

Get published in an award-winning magazine.

Another one bites the dust, y’all! Last semester I took Mass Media Communication wherein we were asked to write media journals. One entry had us explain every bit of our media intake for a full day. Another was spending a day without any mass media. I got those done lickety-split. But, then, my professor gave us the hardest part:

Be a part of the media. Write an opinion article.

And that’s it. So open. So seemingly easy, right? Negative. I had such a hard time. What do I even care enough about to write about with any sort of validity that someone would actually want to read? I procrastinated for almost a full week [which is a lot for an overachiever like myself]!

I finally got something down that fit the bill. I turned it in and hoped for a good grade for the assignment. It caught me off guard when my professor wrote me almost immediately. “I like your opinion.” My opinion?! What! She asked if I would mind editing it down a bit for extra credit points. [Overachiever says, wha] Wha? I had two points shy of a perfect score in this class. I had to go for it.

Once the edits were done I turned it in and was happy as a clam. What I didn’t know was my professor turned my article in the Ebb Tide, Shoreline’s newspaper. Those guys are ranked Top Literary Magazine in 2009 and 2010. And they liked my opinion, too! You can find me in Volume 48 Issue 9.

Seeing it in print, actually holding it in hand the first time was such a great feeling, but you can find it here online, too.

So, I’m all excited about this and I call Mama Sunshine and d’you know what she said?

What, are you surprised? I’m not.

Thanks, Ma

XoxO,

Sunshine, contributing writer

***Keep up with all my goals over at Life List

2 thoughts on “Life List Update: Published!

  1. Pingback: Seattleversary! 4 Years | Sunshine Press

  2. Pingback: 2014 You Better Work | Sunshine Press

you know what i love? comments from awesome people.

