I See an Antique and I Want to Stain it Black

I almost chickened out again! Remember that table I teased you with?

wpid-IMG_20130724_095038.jpg

Well, here’s how it looks now:

DONE

Swanky, no? Here’s how it all began. My boss slash crazy friend, Ryan, gave me this table back at the Burrow. We used it then to house our internet doodads and it sat in a corner because, well, the finish was beat down and ugly.

BEFORE DOOR

But it was clear this thing had great bones. It’s solid and there so much storage space inside. You just can’t beat it for free.

BEFORE

It took me, what, three years? Yeah, about that long because I was so afraid to ruin it. Back when baby was in the corner, it was easier to avoid but we use this as our coffee table in the jam room which sees a fair amount of traffic. I couldn’t stand it. So I covered it with a sheet for another six weeks.

BEFORE

Until I could stand it no more. I carefully removed the hinges and hardware which was a surprisingly smooth process considering this piece is from the 30s.

BEFORE TOP

Then I got to work with my Makita. Have I mentioned how much I love this thing? So speedy and effective. Once I sanded the remaining veneer off the top I flipped this bad boy over to get at the legs.

SEXY MAKITA

Glenda B., the antique expert at justanswer.com says, “Weiman Furniture Co. was in business in Rockford, Illinois, beginning in the early 1940s or before. It became a division of Bassett Furniture Industries, Inc., in 1979.” Googling further, I see a smaller Weiman for $712 on Etsy. It’s in much better condition but, that’s heirloom quality for ya. I have to thank Furniture Man for confidence from this post. There’s nothing I could do to my table that would make it look worse than the before picture. Dear lord!

WEIMAN

In my wildest imagination I saw this table stained teal and you would be able to see all shades of blue in the ripples like you can see in the grey of my dresser [even despite the graininess of this photo]. In the end I couldn’t find anything just right and decided to bring out my lust for teal through accessories and keeping the furniture classic and durable.

OTHER HANDIWORK

One thing I learned from sanding and staining my dresser was to always have a ventilator mask. I mean, you know, unless you like picking sawdust out of your nose for the next two days.

SAFETY FIRST

Here’s what this bad boy looked like once I sanded up to 320 grit paper. LIKE BUTTER!

LIKE BUTTAH

Rubbed down with fine, damp shammy you can see the richness of the wood.

THE WIPE DOWN

Once dry, I brought the table downstairs. There’s no end to the leaves, pollen and dog hair floating around the backyard so that was out of the question, but I knew working in the basement meant working with moisture in the air. From here this project took days longer than I would have liked, but everything has to be dry before you move on. So I was patient. Painfully.

DRYING

I used Varathane’s Ebony. And peep my fancy paint can opener! Did you know they made such things? I always thought you were just supposed to used a flathead screwdriver. Huh. How about that.

VARATHANE EBONY

I did a test area and found the stain to be much darker than I had anticipated but I pressed on. I could feel the fabulous calling. Like a glamorous wind ringing in my ears, urging me forward!

TOP WET

Once the stain dried two days later. I applied a matte poly. The picture below is after fresh application. See how it looks oddly grayish-blue? That freaked me out. It dried well on top, but the sides needed extra love. Luckily when it comes to me and furniture I got nuttin but love!

WEIRD, NO?

While I waited for everything to dry I decided to remove the odd metal rack that held two keyboards and hang, in their place, some guitar art. The one on the left is called Mississippi Red. He was my gift to Honeybee. The one on the right is Christine, named after the little lady who gave me that guitar. It was the first guitar I ever smashed. Partly because it was unplayably warped and partly because my heart was broken at the time. Both these pieces mean a great deal to me and to see them hanging together, finally, has made me smile every day since.

NEW ART

The red swivel chair is actually an ab workout machine. It’s got Tam Tam the Sandwich Man’s hat on it for additional rustic charm. Also got a new lucky bamboo. It’s so hard to have plants down in the basement, but I’ve decided that’s no longer an excuse. I’ve got a collection now that I switch between upstairs and downstairs so everybody has their time in the sun.

JAM SPACE

Honeybee says we should do a glossy poly to up the glamour factor. And here I am trying to dial it down to maintain our more masculine subtlety! We may just have to do that. Mmm. I don’t know. Still deciding. I sprayed the hardware black

DONE

And here’s the top. This picture doesn’t do it justice. You can see the graining in the wood in real life. Mm so nice!

AFTER TOP

Thanks for hanging out with me as I make our little space a little better, one step at a time. What projects are you working on…or avoiding? I highly suggest finding a worse situation on the internet to build your confidence and then getting to work!

xo,

Sunshine

3 thoughts on “I See an Antique and I Want to Stain it Black

    • Thanks, Kim! I wish I could do more, I’d just work on furniture and design all day long. If you have any pieces that needs some love, send em my way. I’ll return it with the finish of your choice. 😀

  1. Pingback: Seattleversary! 4 Years | Sunshine Press

you know what i love? comments from awesome people.

