Menu: Caffeine Free Not-Too-Sweet Sweet Tea

TEA TIME!

There’s basically nowhere to get legit sweet tea in the north. I’ve encountered all sorts of impostors and I refused to settle any longer.

Here’s how it’s done.

You’ll need tea bags [any combination of basic black or green, or you could get fancy with it and go for an orange pekoe], water, ice, 2/3 cup sugar [per pitcher]. One tea bag for every quart and you’ll notice I’m using the double wide.

DOUBLE WIDE

You get yourself a good old-fashioned pot. Do not fall for the cold brew scheme. You’re going to need to boil the water.

BIG POT

Well, barely. When the littlest bubbles begin to leap toward the surface of the water, that’s when you remove from heat and add your tea bags. Ahem. Bags of tea.

BARELY BOIL

Our buddy and frequent houseguest has Crohn’s disease, so eliminating the caffeine made this a tasty beverage we can all enjoy.

DECAFF

Tea doesn’t last long around here, so I make a pitcher and a carafe each time. They each hold about a quart.

PITCHERS

Anytime you ice anything, you lose flavor. Negate the ice effect by letting your tea sit for a good, long steep. Squeeze for the full flavor.

SQEEZE

Add ice to your pitchers. I used almost three tray’s worth. Pour 2/3 cup sugar over the ice. The sugar is easier to dissolve in the warm tea, but it changes the flavor just a bit, so if you want the full ride, go for the over the ice.

ICED WITH ACTUAL ICE

When I first moved in with Honeybee, we were doing some unpacking and came across my kitchen funnel. He scurried off with it in the other room. Where’re you taking that funnel? To put with the automotive stuff. But that’s my kitchen funnel! Why would you need a funnel in the kitchen?

This is why. It makes the pouring of the tea easier.

FUNNEL

This pitcher happens to be the self stirring variety which is quite handy. You just use the plunger to move things around. For the carafe I shake it with the lid.

SELF STIRRER

And there you have it, delicious caffeine free not-too-sweet sweet tea. At this point some folks might add a lemon. And don’t get me wrong, I love the way lemon can bring out certain flavors, but you won’t catch me putting it in mah sweet tea. I take it straight up, baby. The same goes for alternative sweeteners. I’ve tried agave nectar, brown and natural sugar to mediocre result. This is my tea. There are many others like it, but this one’s mine. Haha I’ve always wanted an excuse to say that.

TEA TIME!

Extra credit: have a cocktail. Mix in some vodka!

Your partner in thirst,

Sunshine

One thought on “Menu: Caffeine Free Not-Too-Sweet Sweet Tea

  1. Pingback: Seattleversary! 4 Years | Sunshine Press

you know what i love? comments from awesome people.

