What is Love?

WAT IS LOVE?

If your answer is baby, don’t hurt me, don’t hurt me no more I’m laughing at you.Which is to say that I’m laughing at us. Because we’re clearly hip. Did you see when I did that Pokie post? Well, down in the comments section MKJ said:

I first read this as “(do you) you know what is love? Comments from awesome people.” and I started thinking about the definition of love, had my statement fairly clarified – and then realized it was “you know what I love?” not ” you know what is love?”. You do know some pretty awesome people, maybe you should pose this question and see how many interesting answers you get.

She’s right, I do know awesome people. So, what’s your definition? I imagine real love to be sort of like potion in Harry Potter that causes strong infatuation and every person who sniffs it, smells the things they love. It’s different for everyone. “For example I smell freshly mown grass, new parchment and spearmint toothpaste.” If love was a smell for me it’d be Honeybee’s cologne Voyage mixed with his natural mansmell, plus chocolate with almonds and burning candle smell. But wait, let’s back up here. We can’t just approach this thing from one of five senses. What is it then? How do you define love? Contrary to popular Facebook, you can’t just say it’s complicated and keep stepping. C’mon. What is love?

Holla back.

xo,

Sunshine

Me? Well, first of all my love is big. It’s a series of relationships all with the same person. While there is a tight string between our bodies pulling us toward physical embrace, there is also a simultaneous trust to accept one another’s honest truth. My love  involves and includes the wonder of exploring this planet together and in so doing accepting of both the joy and despair of the human condition. It’s an all-inclusive package. It’s the thing I’m most proud of that I can offer and I have some squared away just for you.

Yes, you.

One thought on “What is Love?

  1. I am thinking and rethinking this topic. Again. LOL.

    While I consider it, here is a bibliography on the topic of love:

    Education of Little Tree (the concept of kin=understanding, as the source of love)
    http://www.abebooks.com/servlet/SearchResults?sts=t&tn=education+of+little+tree

    http://www.5lovelanguages.com/

    His Needs, Her Needs
    http://www.abebooks.com/servlet/SearchResults?sts=t&tn=his+needs+her+needs&x=0&y=0

    1 Corinthians 13:4-8
    http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=1+Corinthians+13%3A4-8&version=NIV

    Maslow’s hierarchy of needs
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maslow%27s_hierarchy_of_needs

    Erikson’s stages of psychosocial development
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Erikson%27s_stages_of_psychosocial_development

you know what i love? comments from awesome people.

