Menu: Nanner Smoothies 3 Ways

Smoothies are amazing for a lot of reasons. First of all, they’re simultaneously a drink, a meal and dessert all at once. They’re easy! They’re delicious! They’re nutritious! Basically they’re perfect. Honeybee and I  both have a habit of forgetting smoothies are totally do-able. For me it’s because I see so many amazing juicer recipes or super green smoothies with ingredients like kale or flaxseed that I start to get intimidated. Most especially when there’s such debate over whether certain things are good for you or causing more harm than good, I forget that a smoothie can be simple and nutritious and delicious. So let’s do it.

DSC_7622

In General

You’ll want a base+fruit+frozen formula.  I like there to be one frozen thing in my smoothies for texture even if it’s plain old ice. Or you could freeze your base. Or you could freeze the fruit. The choice is yours!

They call it Magic for a Reason

Have you tried the Magic Bullet? I have to say, I love ’em. Basically it’s a mini blender, which I like because it’s super easy to clean up rather than having deal with a big pitcher like a full size blender would have. Another Magic Bullet advantage is the separate cups [and mugs] with lids. You could cut up all your fruit for a week and put each in day’s fruit blend in its own cup, then just freeze those bad boys. Wake up Monday morning, pour in your base, pop it on the Bullet and have a quick smoothie to go. Brilliant! Of course, you could make smoothies with a standard blender or immersion blender, whatever you have on hand will do.

DSC_7602

Basic Banana Smoothie

1/2 cup Coconut Milk, 2 Bananas, 5 cubes of ice

My roommate Cain came into the kitchen just as I was getting started. He was just gonna make a smoothie, too! That just goes to show you, great minds think alike. Or great mouths drink alike. No that’s weird. Anyway, Cain wanted something simple so I resisted the temptation to add all sorts of extras. But if you were feeling wild, you could top with a sprinkle of nutmeg, chopped almonds or shredded coconut. It’s good to begin with basics, though. And you’ll notice that Cain’s is twice the size of ours. We wanted snacks whereas his is meal size.

DSC_7598

I experimented with a couple different coconut milk bases. I noticed the Trader Joe’s version was easier to pour, whereas the Royal Blossom needed quite a bit of mixing and was still thicker. It doesn’t say anything about being condensed, but it was just so’s you know.

DSC_7611

Sunshine’s Strawberry Banana Smoothie

1/4 cup coconut milk, 1/4 cup water, 1/2 cup frozen strawberries, 1/2 cup fresh pineapple, 1/2 banana

For my smoothie, I incorporated the help of this pineapple I totally forgot I bought. Do you buy whole pineapple?

DSC_7615

Sometimes I’ll pass right by them thinking it’ll require so much effort, but you get nearly three times as much for the price of those pre-cut fruit cups. I love a good deal! Another notable thing is that the strawberry in this recipe came frozen. If strawberries were in season, I’d’ve been all up on that, but they’re not so…

DSC_7618

Honeybee’s Blueberry Smoothie

1/4 cup coconut milk, 1/4 cup water, 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, 1/2 cup fresh pineapple, 1/2 banana

DSC_7619 

In an effort to be kinder to the environment, I found these completely compostable bendy straws. They’re appropriately green.

DSC_7599

And there you have it. Three simple smoothies positively fraught with deliciousness and, well, positivity. 🙂

DSC_7623

Slurp it up!

xo,

Sunshine

you know what i love? comments from awesome people.

