Portfolio

hailstrum3

At the beginning of this quarter I found myself with 2 credits to fill and thought an independent study version of a portfolio class would be a good idea. Something about having a deadline making me more productive. More like crazy! It’s one thing to create art, it’s a whole other thing to set up studio lighting, photograph, edit and curate it. My life is like that Whitney Houston song right now.

I’m every woman. It’s all in meeeeeeeee! Anything you want done, baby, I do it naturally. Which includes but is not limited to editing photos to create close-up diptychs such as below. Mmhm! My friend Bethany showed me some Photoshop basics.

FlowerinFieldDiptych

It can get quite time-consuming, especially when any one aspect prompts indecision that can stop even the most staunch little lady’s to do list conquering. Still, I’m proud of the work I’ve done and, for the most part, I was right! Having someone to answer to does keep things moving. Plus my professor is a working artist herself, so her opinions are much appreciated.

She suggested using Wix.com. Have you used their site? Hello, super sexy, easy to manipulate/customize layouts. I love it. As with any free web hosting/blog site on the internet there are drawbacks. Here at WordPress I get great, free statistics which I appreciate. How else would I know that someone in Costa Rica has been reading Sunshine Press?! The analytics tell me what people Google to find me. Nine times out of ten, people are combing the internet for information on Tom Tru. It’s cool. But could I do without? Or use some outside source for that? I’m vaguely toying with the idea of changing everything…you know, when I have any amount of time.

MississippiRed

Do you have experience which such things? Check out my Portfolio here and tell me what you think! All constructive criticism accepted and appreciated.

Replacing nose to grindstone position!

Xo,

Sunshine

you know what i love? comments from awesome people.

