Style: Midi Skirts & Truck Stops

Sunshine

Have you ever had one of those days that just makes you want to punch the sky?

That was Sunday. And I guess it only really hurt so bad because there was such huge potential. Perfect day potential. I could see it. It was palpable. Honeybee and I actually both had the day off. Together! Such a rarity. The weather was gorgeous. We were joined by Jared and off we went to the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival. I’d been before, but neither of them had and I just couldn’t wait for there to be tulips everywhere in every direction, all you can see. So excited!

I did a little mani/pedi situation and my toes came out great, but as soon as I finished my nails, I stood up and promptly ruined them. No biggie. One monkey don’t stop the show, as my granny used to say.

Somehow, though, between my McDonald’s and the freeway 5 car accidents happened, or so Google Navigation said. We only saw the remnants of two, but things definitely slowed down. We saw a cool (read: frightening) semi with actual spikes on his tires! When the fellow saw me taking a picture he tooted his horn. Score.

But, yeah, we definitely sat in traffic for hours. Hours and hours. We managed to get up to three blocks away from the festival, but the traffic wasn’t moving in either direction at all. The festival closes at 5, at 4.50 we were so close and yet so far. Then, we got to turn around and get stuck in traffic the other way for another couple hours. At one point we had to pee so bad we pulled into the only place we could: a truck stop. Now, I’m not saying there aren’t classy truck stops somewhere in America, but there definitely aren’t in the Skagit Valley. Through the store, through the random room with random dudes crashed on random couches to find the restroom. The men’s room was open, but there was a giant shirtless chap shaving. The women’s room was out-of-order. The sign said I should take my midi skirt and visit the Honey Bucket out back. So out through the random room, out the back door, through the parking lot and nestled in between 6 semi trucks was a hot box of poop waiting for me. That’s how bad I had to pee.

Since we were getting no tulips we went back and took pictures.

DSC_9120 DSC_9137

D’you ever notice how high fashion photography has some weird poses? I thought I’d try one. Silly or super model? You decide.

DSC_9109 DSC_9107

 top: target, mini sweater: Ross, midi skirt: thrifted, sandals: thrifted, button earrings by Jeri Mack

Photos by Jared Wade

I suppose all in all it wasn’t the worst day. There was plenty of sunshine and I got to hang out with two of my favorite people, so that’s a victory. Of course now any time I think of the tulips I shake my fist.

xo,

Sunshine

you know what i love? comments from awesome people.

